Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Jersey Girl

I need to shop some sales!
I need to find some more sales or else give up my Pearl I. attraction.  Actually, this jersey was reasonably priced, I suppose, as it's not near top-of-the-line - but I wanted something with a little longer sleeve and a bright hard-to-miss-me color.  This fit the bill.  I may have to switch to mens' jersey to get a longer, less fitted sleeve.  I'm not a fan of the "sausage casing" look.

I also picked up a couple of adapters and was advised by the LBS just to keep them on the valve stem (after closing it, of course).  So I'll try that.  I've never personally aired up Inez' tires, so I'll give that a go tonight before my mayoral debut.

Started watching the documentary Hell On Wheels last night about the 2003 (I think) Tour de France.  Very interesting so far.  I dozed off, so I'll pick it up again, perhaps tonight.

I'm meeting tomorrow with Patty, the woman who is interested in helping me with my housework.  Right now, there is just not enough time to get everything done that I need to do.  Last night, I finally sat down to eat at 9pm!  I worked late, ran to the LBS, went to the grocery store, came home, threw on some shorts and went outside to work in the yard until it was too dark to see.  Came in a prepped dinner.  Ate.  Cleaned up the kitchen and watched a bit of the aforementioned documentary and then it was bedtime.  The next few weeks look to be scheduled just as heavily.  So, I'm buying some time.  It does feel weird and indulgent, but I'm trying it out for the summer.

Patty is a neighbor whom I first met when I got the key to this house.  The Prior Owner asked a few of the neighbors to over to meet me - those available mid-week, mid-day.  She is retired, but active and is just looking to make a little extra money.  I am hopeful we can work something out and that she finds it worth her while.  I'm hoping for a couple hours every Friday to mop the tile floors in the kitchen and dining room and to clean and mop the bathroom.  For those who have help - is that reasonable to do in 2 hours?

Anyway, I'm already running late for the day.  Wednesday is/was no-spin day, but since I'll have to leave a bit early to catch up with Her Honor, I need to get in a bit early, too.

I have absolutely fallen off the radar with the Phone-A-Friend challenge.  Will try to resume.

Take good care of yourself.  Be kind to others.  Find a way to make things fit.

-Roxie

4 comments:

  1. I used to have a bi-weekly housekeeper. I miss having that, especially in summer when all I want to do it go to the beach, but Mr. Helen needed a vehicle and that meant giving up that money towards the payment. Sigh.

    IMO 2 hours should be plenty of time to do that. In fact it may be a bit long and you might get some dusting or vacuuming added in.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I hope you can find some good deals on cycling gear...that stuff is up there with running clothes in terms of expense! But cute, so, so cute...

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ive fallen off as well.
    Today I climb back on the phone a friend wagon.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Two hours is more than enough for what you propose. I have a little apartment -- 750 square feet -- and the kitchen is done, bathroom scrubbed, sheets changed and floors and carpets in about that time. It's changed my life. Well worth the money.

    ReplyDelete

We'll try this for a while.